Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert

Unit Head Organisation & Processes

Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert, Jahrgang 1961, studierte Chemie an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt, wo sie 1992 auch mit einer Dissertation in der Arbeitsgruppe von PD Dr. E. Wolly am Arbeitskreis Prof. Dr. H.G. Gassen im Institut für Biochemie zum Dr.-Ing. promovierte. Als Postdoktorandin widmete sie sich in den darauffolgenden vier Jahren am Biomedical Research Centre der University of British Columbia in Kanada der Erforschung von Signalübertragungsprozessen in hämatopoetischen Zellsystemen, bevor sie dann 1996 als Projektleitern zur BRAIN AG stieß. Sie betreute diverse Industriekooperationen sowie BMBF-geförderte F&E-Projekte mit den Schwerpunkten mikrobielle Screeningprogramme, heterologe Proteinexpression und Bio-Analytik. Im Zuge dessen legte sie die Basis zum BioArchiv, inkl. Datenmanagement und etablierte die Abläufe in den Bereichen instrumenteller (HPLC-)Analytik. Darüber hinaus verantwortet sie seit 1999 das Management von F&E-Förderprojekten (BMBF, DBU, EU) und ist administrativer Ansprechpartner für Projektträger und behördliche Prüfungsstellen.

Die Ausweitung des Verantwortungsbereichs Personal, in dem sie bereits seit 2001 für das Auswahl- und Einstellungsverfahren von Angestellten und Stipendiaten zuständig ist, umfasst seit 2005 auch die betriebliche Ausbildung von Biologielaboranten/innen und kaufmännischen Mitarbeitern/innen und wurde 2008 um die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit im Umfeld Personal erweitert. Seit 2013 verantwortet Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert als Unit Head den Bereich „Organisation & Processes“, in dem neben Einkauf, EDV, Infrastruktur und Technik auch die allgemeine Administration sowie insbesondere das Personalmanagement der BRAIN AG verortet ist.

Darüber hinaus fungiert sie ehrenamtlich als Auditorin für Agenturen im Bereich der Studiengang-Akkreditierung (ASIIN e.V., Aquas), ist Mitglied des Fachausschusses 10 (Biowissenschaften) der ASIIN e.V., des Managerinnen-Netzwerks der VBU (Vereinigung Deutscher Biotechnologie-Unternehmen), des Personalnetzwerkes Bergstraße der Wirtschaftsförderung Bergstraße GmbH, der Vorstandskommission „Ausbildung in der Biotechnologie” der DECHEMA e.V. und hat einen Sitz im Industriebeirat Biotechnologie der Hochschule Esslingen.

Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert

Unit Head Organisation & Processes

Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert, born in 1961, studied chemistry at Technische Universität Darmstadt where she also attained the academic rank of doctor of engineering in 1992 after joining the working group headed by P.D. Dr. E. Wollny, which formed part of Prof. Dr. H.G. Gassen’s study group at the Institute for Biochemistry. She spent the subsequent four years as a postdoctoral fellow at the Biomedical Research Centre at the University of British Columbia, Canada, where she explored signal transduction processes in hematopoietic cell systems before joining BRAIN AG as project manager in 1996. At BRAIN, she supervised several industrial cooperation projects as well as R&D projects funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) with a focus on microbial screening programs, heterologous protein expression, and bio-analytics. In this context, she has laid the foundation for BRAIN’s BioArchive, including its data management system, and established corporate processes in the field of instrumental (HPLC-)analytics. Since 1999 she has also been responsible for managing R&D projects funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU), and the EU, and is the administrative contact for project management agencies and governmental audit bodies.

The responsibilities of BRAIN’s HR department, in which she has been in charge of the selection and recruitment procedure for employees and scholarship holders since 2001, were expanded in 2005 to include the in-house training of biology laboratory assistants and administrative employees and once more in 2008, when HR-related public relations activities were added to the portfolio. Since 2013, Dr.-Ing. Ute Dechert has headed BRAIN’s Organization & Processes unit, spanning purchasing, IT, infrastructure and technology, general administration, and, in particular, human resources management.

In addition, she acts as a volunteer auditor for agencies in the field of degree program accreditation (ASIIN e.V., Aquas), and is a member of the Technical Committee 10 (Biosciences) of ASIIN e.V., the Female Managers’ Network within the Association of German Biotechnology Companies (VBU), the Bergstraße HR Network run by Wirtschaftsförderung Bergstraße GmbH, the local business development agency, the DECHEMA e.V. “Biotechnology Education” board committee as well as the biotechnology industry advisory board of Esslingen University of Applied Sciences.

Share this page