Press releases
17 November 2016, Zwingenberg

CEO of BRAIN AG nominated as „Entrepreneur of the Year 2016“

On 18-November In the German Historical Museum in Berlin, the Entrepreneur of the Year will be announced and honoured, for the twentieth time by the auditing and advisory company EY. Among the finalists is Dr Juergen Eck, CEO of the bioeconomy company BRAIN AG.

The most important criteria of the jury for the selection of the finalists are growth, future potential, innovative power, employee leadership and social responsibility of the entire company. Jury members Dr Patrick Adenauer, Managing Director of Bauwens GmbH & Co. KG, Professor Dr Ulrike Detmers, partner and member of the central management of the Mestemacher Group, Florian Noell, CEO of the German Startups Association, Professor Dr Christine Volkmann, Chair of Entrepreneurship and Economic Development & UNESCO-Chair of Entrepreneurship and Intercultural Management, Schumpeter School of Business and Economics, University of Wuppertal, and Dr Manfred Wittenstein, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of WITTENSTEIN AG jointly decide on the award winners in the different categories.

“It is always fascinating to see the business ideas and successes of our country. This year, again, I am very impressed by all the entrepreneurs elected”, said Hubert Barth, CEO of EY GmbH.

Dr Jürgen Eck is looking forward to the award ceremony in Berlin: “It is a great honour for me to be nominated by the jury as one of the final-ists. The selection process was very exciting, and it is always impressive to see how creative and successful the German entrepreneurs from all sectors are. However, I would like to emphasize that at BRAIN the star is the team! It honours and motivates us to have reached this far stage of the Entrepreneur of the Year 2016 competition.”

Some of the prize-winners of the last years were, amongst others, Pro-fessor Götz Werner of dm drug stores (2008), Professor Klaus Hipp of Hipp OHG (2010), Stefan Draeger of Draegerwerk (2012), Dr Andreas Kaufmann of Leica Cameras (2013), Uwe Arendt of Nomos Glashütte, and Ralf Zastrau of Nanogate AG (2015).

One of the winners will be given the additional opportunity to represent Germany in the “World Entrepreneur of the Year” election, which takes place annually in Monte Carlo. The competition is supported by well-known companies and the media, such as LGT Bank, Jaguar Land Rover, Strategic Management Consulting for Communication CNC as well as Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung and manager magazine in addition to EY.

CEO der BRAIN AG Dr. Jürgen Eck
© Luise Böttcher, Archiv BRAIN AG

Press Image

Der CEO der BRAIN AG gehört zu den Finalisten für der Auszeichnung„Entrepreneur of the Year 2016“

Share this page